Feliz Navidad!

img_2579First of all have been listening to the new David Archuleta song “My little prayer” ON REPEAT! AHHHH IT IS SO GOOD!!!! plus i just love singing:)

In Potosi you can only sing standing still or sitting down- NOT EVEN A JOKE! If you try walking and singing you get light headed- because there is ZERO AIR HERE at almost 3 miles UP!!! Even the Potosians do this! It’s good stuff;)

This week was awesome!! I LOVE POTOSÍ!!!! The people are really loving! Well the members are… the other Potosians are a little cold, but its good opportunities. There are LOTs of drinking places here, and they always yell stuff at us, and on Friday I was just really tired, and someone yelled something and I just walked up super happy and said, “HEY I’m elder Jamón and I have a message that will change your lives and I would really just LOVE to serve you guys! We have a message that blesses families and I just would love to share it with YOU!” hahaha. They never bothered us after that and we have a cita with one of them tomorrow;)

img_2577WE TAUGHT SOOOOO MUCH THIS WEEK! It was really a miracle! We had a lot of things happen that were miracles! We found this family that is super chevre and they were really interested, but busy. So we never got to visit them, but Sunday I felt that we needed to go see them, so we went and the parents weren´t there, but the kids were! So we invited them to church if their parents came home in time. And then we went to church. It’s great- lots of stressed piano playing, but there were like 4 investigators there so that was awesome. (I play the piano for everything- including the Primary program, which was a miracle I could keep up with the kids!!) The familia Garnika didn’t show up to reunion sacramental (sacrament meeting) and so during the meeting I was praying so hard that they could come, but they didnt show up during the first hour:(
However, after the first hour, a hermana came up and said- hey Elder Jamón, there is a family that says an “Elder Jamoncito invited them” hahaha, THEY CAME!!!!! ANd they LOVED it!!!! so that was a small miracle!!!

Also ITS ALMOST CHRISTMAS!!!

AHHHHHHHH WHOOOOOOOO GET PUMPED!!!!!!
I felt like Elf, because last night I totally decorated the house with homemade snowflakes and stuff hahahaha SO PUMPED!!!! I love Christmas!!!! and really love why we have Christmas -for the birth of Christ!!!

I just am so thankful for Christ in my life. The mission has changed me a lot. I guess just feeling the spirit ALL THE TIME makes me a bit emotional -I tear up bearing my testimony, or when investigatiors get something.  I CRIED in a study this week! hahaha.  I am just so thankful for my Savior and the gift that He has given me, of the ressurection and the ability to repent. Really the atonement is about “mejoraring” hahaha or bettering ourselves! I LOVE how my compi always prays that we can better ourselves thanks to the atonment. and I LOVE THAT!

ALSO EVERYONE NEEDS TO READ THIS…. ALERT ALERT haha

https://www.lds.org/general-conference/2015/04/latter-day-saints-keep-on-trying?lang=eng

I LOVE THIS TALK!!! This last paragraph really hits home to me:)

“My invitation to all of us is to evaluate our lives, repent, and keep on trying. If we don’t try, we’re just latter-day sinners; if we don’t persevere, we’re latter-day quitters; and if we don’t allow others to try, we’re just latter-day hypocrites.10 As we try, persevere, and help others to do the same, we are true Latter-day Saints. As we change, we will find that God indeed cares a lot more about who we are and about who we are becoming than about who we once were.”

AHHH THis is so awesome! I am a latterday sinner who keeps trying. I can promise you all that Im not perfect, but I am trying. I am trying to be better every day. I love this gospel and really I LOVE HOW HAPPY THIS GOSPEL makes me:))))) I notice how the people who are inveestigating the church and the people who are in the church, they are almost ALWAYS happier than the rest!

Many times people ask why are you so happy?  I can’t help but try to share some part of the restored gospel with them! It brings joy, it brings blessings, and it brings peace. I love this work.

img_2578I am a little sad I’m not with my family for Christmas, but I really am happy that I am here in Bolivia and sharing the gospel of happiness:)

I love you all and am praying for you all!!!
MERRY CHRISTMAS!!! FELIZ NAVIDAD!!!!
Elder Hammond

2 thoughts on “Feliz Navidad!

  1. Feliz Navidad Elder Hammond, I have just finished reading your letter, a perfect conclusion to a very nice Christmas day. Your love for and devotion to the gospel of Jesus Christ always lifts my spirit and re-enforces my own testimony. Our church today; besides the sacrament, was comprised of beautiful Christmas music and songs. I love the Carols that tell the story of Jesus especially sung by the primary children. Later in the day via your grandpa’s technology we had a tour and visit with your family in Texas. What an awesome group that is. I am sure they are well pleased with their special missionary and the fine work you are doing. Again, I love you, and may God continue to bless you and your work. Love you, great-grandma Hammond

    On Sun, Dec 25, 2016 at 2:55 PM, letters from elder hammond wrote:

    > lettersfromelderhammond posted: “First of all have been listening to the > new David Archuleta song “My little prayer” ON REPEAT! AHHHH IT IS SO > GOOD!!!! plus i just love singing:) In Potosi you can only sing standing > still or sitting down- NOT EVEN A JOKE! If you try walking and singing ” >

    Like

  2. Dear Elder Hammond..
    It is so good to read your testimony. I know that you are so close to the Spirit–and that helps you in every thing you do -think – and say. Your testimony is so strong that those you teach can’t help but feel the Spirit when you testify!

    Ben and Taylor both got engaged this week. Looks like weddings in Jan. for Jenna–April for Ben and Dani and May for Taylor.. There is hope for great-grandchildren– and after such GREAT GRANDCHILDREN- I can’t wait to see who Heavenly Father sends to our family in the future!!
    Continue to work hard and try to enjoy every minute of your mission. We are so proud of you!
    Know you are in our prayers many times each day!
    We love you.
    Gram and Grandpa

    Like

Leave a Reply

