Come What May and Love It

p1030349

Hello ALL!

This email might be a little spacey…we got to help someone last night very late and then got up VERY early to go on a fun trip with other elders for p-day.  We hiked and explored along one of the rivers that comes off of the Amazon…and it was a tropical rainforest!  Beautiful and very fun!

I haven’t slept much in 36 hours and am having a bit of a hard time organizing my thoughts:) so bear with me and we´ll make it through this together, yeah???

First of all, I hope you guys know how much I love you. I really miss and love you a lot!

This week was a goodish week:) I really did learn a lot of things and am focusing on Finding Joy in Every Situation!:) I really really love that talk:) ALSO, I really love “Come What May and Love It: 🙂

here are some favorite quotes that I studied this week:

Every life has peaks and shadows and times when it seems that the birds don’t sing and bells don’t ring. Yet in spite of discouragement and adversity, those who are happiest seem to have a way of learning from difficult times, becoming stronger, wiser, and happier as a result.

The first thing we can do is learn to laugh.

The second thing we can do is seek for the eternal. You may feel singled out when adversity enters your life. You shake your head and wonder, “Why me?”

But the dial on the wheel of sorrow eventually points to each of us. At one time or another, everyone must experience sorrow. No one is exempt.

Because Jesus Christ suffered greatly, He understands our suffering. He understands our grief. We experience hard things so that we too may have increased compassion and understanding for others.

I love this part! It’s so true and really I have applied this part a ton in my week. My burn has been a bit of a ridiculous struggle. haha Lets just say I haven’t ever had this much consistent pain in a week of my life, but I really was trying to apply the first principle. Learn to laugh! haha I could make super painful things into funny jokes, and then everyone feels happier. Basically this week I have just realized that the way to make myself happy is to seek and actively try to create the happiness of others.

Just put other`s needs above yours and serve them and try to make them the happiest they could be and you will be happy:)

ALSO I love this last part. Christ literally suffered for all of our sins. BUT he also suffered all pain that we will ever feel. I thought a lot about that this week. Because through Christ literally with any pain we have ever felt he has been there. He has felt it, he has suffered it (and much more) so that he could “know how to succor us in our infirmities and afflictions”  and really I have gained such a testimony of that aspect of the atonement this week.  p1030355

I love this definition of the atonement:

The great sacrifice He made to pay for our sins and overcome death is called the Atonement. It is the most important event that has ever occurred in the history of mankind: “For it is expedient that an atonement should be made; for according to the great plan of the Eternal God there must be an atonement made, or else all mankind must unavoidably perish; … yea, all are fallen and are lost, and must perish except it be through the atonement” (Alma 34:9).

I love this definition! Christ came with the mission to save us. He broke the bands of death and paid for our sins. BUT only if we are willing to humble ourselves and ask to partake in the blessings of the atonement! I have applied this to me a lot this week. One because people here actually say “You are a missionary Elder Hammond you don’t have temptations, or sin” HAHAHAHAHAHA SO WRONG!!!! I have a LOT of temptations, and sometimes I fall short, but Every day I focus on those things and repent then try to be better. Also I can ask for help because Christ suffered pains, AND I LOVE THIS! WE CAN RELY ON CHRIST IN ALL things!!!! I love that. I love my older brother Jesus Christ. I love the church, I love the gospel of Jesus Christ. I am so thankful for the blessing that I have to serve this mission. I love you all, and hope you can serve others!

 

Love,

Elder Hammond

(teaching them to read the Book of Mormon YOUNG!)p1030353

One thought on “Come What May and Love It

  1. My dear Elder Hammond, Your letter has lifted my spirits and makes me realize anew how many blessings we receive each day. As you may have heard, your great grandfather Hammond is embarking on his next mission in the spirit realm. I am confident that he is prepared and eager to continue his service to our Heavenly Father as he has always been. He was so very pleased with you and the fine young man you have become. I know he would send his love and say well done. I am so fortunate to be blessed by a large and faithful family, who have surrounded me with love and support. Grandpa was so pleased to know that you are among the first of your generation in our family to serve a mission and he enjoyed your weekly reports. I see that same love for you in the eyes of your grandparents and parents. What an example you are to the rest of your generation, who will soon be receiving the opportunity to serve as missionaries for the Lord. I hope that by the time you return there will be one or two more ready to go. I send you my love and prayers, and pray you will go each moment with God’s blessings. Great-grandma Hammond

    On Fri, Dec 2, 2016 at 2:31 PM, letters from elder hammond wrote:

    > lettersfromelderhammond posted: ” Hello ALL! This email might be a little > spacey…we got to help someone last night very late and then got up VERY > early to go on a fun trip with other elders for p-day. We hiked and > explored along one of the rivers that comes off of the Amazon…and it wa” >

    Like

Leave a Reply

